Salam alaikum

Second day of Ramadan and first day at work as a Muslim.
Most already knew what I was doing, perhaps if they hadn’t had the warning I would have had a totally different reaction. However when I first walked in with my hijab on (matching the uniform naturally) people hardly bat an eyelid.
The genuine curious questions did come eventually. The health fanatic guys were more interested about the fast, and the women asked general questions about me covering. Mostly however, in fact as much as 99% of the time, it wasn’t mentioned.
Customers too couldn’t care less… Well apart from one. When the middle aged man came to my till his opening line was: “I bet you’re hot in all that gear”. Admittedly harmless enough, it wasn’t until I got him his water and he saw the price that he went into one.
“You know you’re not going to heaven, that’s theft”. He then went on to rant about how it was a 300% profit, and that I was going to burn in hell. All the while I tried to tell him that 1) I don’t decide the prices, and 2) we do allow customers to bring their own drinks. His daughter eventually told him to stop.
Now of course maybe my headscarf had nothing to do with his rant and it really was just the price that angered. I don’t doubt that it was the price, however I do believe his choice of words were directly related to him assuming I was religious. The way he was telling me I was going to go to hell was as if he wanted to hurt me.
It didn’t, I was in a bit of wide eyed shock and on the brink of laughter. My mind naturally thought of atheistic comebacks- “I don’t believe in hell so couldn’t care less what you think, now pay for your drink and get the hell away from my face” was the first to come to me. But no, I stayed patient, I stayed polite. I waited until he walked away until announcing what an arse he was (probably not how a Muslim in Ramadan should speak).
All other customers however acted with me like always. I got the same smiles, the occasional ‘hi love”‘, questions etc. Why would I expect different? I just assumed some, mainly the elderly, would be slightly “off” with me. I served an old schooled friend and many regulars who had no idea about the exoeriment, and they took seeing me covered in their stride. A single day however is hardly enough to say England in general is fine with Muslims. Does any Muslims reading this living in the west have any stories?
My usual work uniform is trousers and t-shirt, all I had to do was put a long sleeved top under and wear a head scarf. Was it comfortable? Well it wasn’t bad. My under scarf bonnet on my ears all day gave them a bruised feel, and I didn’t feel very “free”. Taking it all off when I got home was a comfortable release. But I can’t really blame the clothes, the under top was tight and stiff, and I had layered my hijab instead off wearing a light weight singular one (it did look better than the bright blue cap I usually have to wear though). It looks like summer is finally arriving in England, so I will have to change it up a bit.

So fasting whilst at work, in a job that means I’m surrounded by food most of the time? Not too bad actually. Now and then my stomach would rumble and tighten to remind me of its existence. Thirst started creeping in from 3pm. I kept needing to lick my lips and my throat was noticeably dry. However it is hardly unliveable.
I can’t even begin to say how shocked I am by the ease the fast has come to me. Yes it is now two hours to go untilmimvsn eat, and my tummy is becoming more frequently angry, but I don’t feel weak.
I LOVE to eat, I constantly do which is why I am obese. I couldn’t go more than an hour having another snack attack before the fast. I assumed my body suddenly going without the constant stream of food would render me a light headed mess. A religious person might wonder if Allah is easing Ramadan for me as encouragement, I however would say I have a lot of fat for my body to use up, holding off hunger.

Now this is when time drags. My husband is cooking leaving me with nothing to do but think about dinner, and the lovely smells coming from the kitchen aren’t helping.

This is my first attempt at blogging from an iPad, sorry for the even larger amount of typos and spelling erros than usual- or maybe I can blame exhaustion and hunger? Pregnant women have “baby brain” as an excuse for slip ups, I have “fast brain”.
I’m off to distract myself for an hour.
Ma salama

