The day is drawing near. It was easy to look at the big picture when I decided to do this, it seemed simple, now however I’m learning the little details that I will have to take into account whilst being a Muslim. Silly things that to others might seem insignificant but nevertheless I have to approach it the Islamic way.
When the postman, or any other man, knocks on my door, I’m going to have to cover up before answering. Now considering the postman often knocks about 9am and I’m still in my nightie, this doesn’t bode well. In Egypt I have noticed people are used to waiting a while before the door opens, I guess any women there are quickly rushing about for a scarf and abaya to throw on.
Another thing is injections/tablets. I would have assumed they were perfectly fine to take whilst fasting as it isn’t nourishment, but a friend who is a doctor’s receptionist told me how a man phoned and said he needed to have his holiday injections before Ramadan due to his fast. I’m on the contraception pill, I’m also awaiting an appointment to have my wisdom teeth removed, oh dear.
Swimming- I don’t have a “burkini”, I can’t justify buying one either after my hijab spree the other night. At the moment I take my son weekly as well as go to aqua zumba once a week, and now that has to stop. Feeling deprived isn’t exactly the best way to start this.
Exercise- is it safe to really do any exercise whilst fasting, considering I will already be dehydrated? I have a month left on my gym membership, seems a waste.
Sleep deprivation- I have been so focused on the lack of food I forgot the lack of sleep! I will eat around 10pm, and then pretty much straight to bed as I would have to wake up at about 3am, and then back to bed as my toddler wakes at 7am. He has recently dropped his nap so no help there. Will being both tired and hungry put a strain on my parenting?
What about when prayer time comes whilst I’m at work? Do I abandon my till and customers to get ready and pray?

The list of the little details gets longer by the day. I knew about the prayers, I knew about the clothes, I knew about the food, I didn’t however know that I might have to abandon my make up and scan all my body products for any pork ingredients.

I’m going to make mistakes, I’m going to forget things, I’m going to be totally oblivious to some. Right now I am learning the details, but I still have some way to go before I truly understand them. Maybe an atheist never will.

