If anyone wants to try being a Muslim for a month, Ramadan is likely to prove to be by far the most difficult time. With no food or drink during daylight hours (remembering that is roughly 3.30am until 10pm in English summertime), that alone is a massive challenge for even the most devout Muslim. I fasted with my husband on two days last year, and all I could think about was FOOD. Preparing my sons meals was a nightmare, not being able to taste them to make sure they are ok, and the temptation they provided nearly proved my downfall. And that was just two non-consecutive days.
So why on earth did I pick that time of the year? Well despite the hardship, many Muslims will tell you this in when they feel closest to God and their religion. This is a time when Islam is at the front of their minds and they make the extra effort to avoid the bad and embrace the good. Surely I’m most likely to feel the spiritual side of the religion during the most spiritual time in the religion? Another plus side is that it will give my husband a companion during this time. In Egypt nearly the whole country are fasting, in England my husband is alone and losing out of the holiday feel the month has. I will share this with him the same way he shares my Christmas, Easter, pancake day, Halloween and firework night with me.

After Ramadan comes Eid, three days of celebrating and feasts. Typically Muslims will buy new clothes, give children toys/money, spend time visiting family, and eat lots. The last day or Eid, will be my last day as a Muslim.

